Recurring Themes

I feel my research has led me to a place when I now appreciate the shrine or altar in a very different way than when I started. I now want to now revisit the making of a shrine from a design based angle. My initial shelf was made subconsciously and I want to see how my new understanding can help me to create something that is deliberate.

I want to look at recurring themes within my research, in doing this I want to break down the different aspects of shrines. I can then choose the ones I want to represent in my final piece. I want to represent them in physical objects through 3D design.

  • Symbolism of objects
  • The sacred and the profane
  • Celebration of life – Gratitude [Present]
  • Memories [Past]
  • Manifesting the future – positive affirmation [Future]
  • Ancestors – Mourning or remembrance [Past]
  • Magic/Power
  • Relationships
  • Self love – Expression/reflection of self
  • Gateways – a way of passage to another way of being or thinking
  • Ritual – Opportunity to encourage and support rituals
  • Shrines being a coping mechanism when dealing with stress and/or grief

I need to group and organise the themes and to choose which I would like to take further into my own work. The aspect of ritual and it’s link to wellbeing I found to be particularly relevant to me as I can relate to this in terms of my original ‘subliminal’ shrine shelf and the positive outcomes I experienced by creating it. The idea of past, present and future also seem to be important and I would like to incorporate all three. The gateway idea that I gained from looking at ‘A time for new dreams’ will definitely feature as I think the idea of a shrine being a gate to something outside of the physical realm is also key – this will also be linked to manifestation.

Unlike my shelf which was made up of personal items, I want to create something, much like the design work or Callum Brown, that can be personalised and used by anyone. Going back to my original understanding of the word, a shrine is a receptacle, a container. However, it will encourage the user to explore the different aspects in a personal way. For example, a place to hold a photograph, a box to place significant items. I feel the aspects must be accessible to everybody.

Past

Present

Future

Ritual

Self

Manifesting

Leave a comment